'Phantom' playlists appearing from disused NAS folder

Answered

Comments

10 comments

  • Official comment
    Avatar
    Sam R.

    Hello, 

    Playlists found in a NAS would need to be deleted from the NAS itself -- as the BluOS Controller does not make edits, it cannot delete a playlist found in a NAS.

    Please ensure the Recycling Bin on your Synology NAS is empty and does not contain these 'phantom' playlists. Following that, please run a Rebuild Index (Help > Diagnostics > Rebuild Index) to see if that removes these playlists. 

    Regards,
    Sam R. 

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Anthony Goethals

    I also have a Synology NAS and have noticed recently that the BluOS app is showing me playlists that have been renamed or deleted.

    In the case where I have renamed or created new playlists, they do show up after I have gone to reindex. Btu I also have several playlists that keep showing up in the app even when they've been deleted.

     

    I've also removed the folders of music they were originally saved into, reindexed and see them still showing up in the app.  I've also gone to the Synology and searched for the specific names of the phantom playlists to make sure they're gone, and they are.

     

    Any suggestions?

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Search and locate .m3u files on your NAS. Remove them. Rebuild your Index in BluOS.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Anthony Goethals

    (But) I also have several playlists that keep showing up in the app even when they've been deleted.

     I've also gone to the Synology and searched for the specific names of the phantom playlists to make sure they're gone, and they are.

     

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Stefan Mehre

    There is a bug with the m3u playlists when they got deleted. I mentioned this before but still didn't get any official report back. Talked to DALI as Distributor to check this and maybe report it to Bluesound, but at the moment I didn't get a response on this.

    I was recognizing this some months ago. I never use these m3u files but I had some folders were these were still in and so I had these in my Bluesound setup. I use it with a Vault2i. So I did:

    - delete these m3u files, after that deleted the index and rebuild from scratch = still listed but of course not possible to playback

    - so deleted the whole music folder, delted the index and did a complete reindex = still there

     

    This was the reason I was asking if the Vault2i maybe saves/copys these playlist in a hidden folder or something different, because they don't get deleted. But I only got a info that I should delete them :)

     

    Last time i investigated this more deeply I believe the issue is not that it doesn't get deleted from the system. The issue seems that these playlists don't get synced to all players. But I have no sync issues with new or other changed files, so should be a network issue. But recognized the following:

    - I do the index on my Vault2i, so after that at the moment these deleted playlists are gone on my Vault2i

    - but on all of my other players 6x PowerNode 2i, 1x, Soundbar2i, 2x Flex2i, Pulse 2i mini, Pulse 2i these playlists are still there

    - if I do a reindex on one of my other players, these playlists are gone on this player too, but only on this one

     

    Because of that the Vault seems to do it right, but the changes to these playlists is not synced to the other players.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Bjørn Ulvik

    Anthony G.
    Make sure your shared folder have "Enable Recyle Bin" "Unchecked".

    If it's not "checked", make sure you are doing as described above by Tony and Sam R: Do a full rebuild, not a "reindex".

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Stefan Mehre

    For me, because I am using a Vault2i as server, there is no recycle bin.

    And I really did a full rebuild many times, so not only reindex.

     

    Anthony,

    Do you still see the playlists on the player you did the rebuild? or is it gone there and you still see the playlists on other players?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Thanks for feedback Stefan - it has been forwarded to QA for further investigation

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Bjørn Ulvik

    Not questioning your findings Stefan, but I'm using only m3u playlists, and have never had any issues with sync between my players.
    If I do a full rebuild, my playlists will be deleted from the player I do the rebuild. Playlist on the other players will still be visible and playable until the syncing is finished. After syncing deleted playlists are gone, and new/updated are working as they should on all players.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Stefan Mehre

    I don't have much experience with these m3u playlist, because normally I don't use them.

    But I am fighting with these two acciddently copied playlists since many months. Honestly I don't use playlists that much at all and I know how I could get rid of them if they would really disturb me.

    But I believe there is an bug and if so, it should be solved. That's the reason why I kept this situation to investigate it more deeply and hopefully could deliver info to reproduce the issue and after that solve it.

     

    @Tony, thanks and if neccessary tell QA to contact me. I am happy to help if I can.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.