node2i update broke usb indexing.

Answered

Comments

14 comments

  • Official comment

    Hi Iain

    We have not made any changes to this aspect. Please try this;

    • Unplug the USB Drive
    • Select Help, Diagnostics, Rebbot to restart your Player
    • Once the LED is blue again, plug the USB drive into the Player
    • After a few seconds, the LED should turn white to indicate an Index has started
    • Once the LED is blue again, open the App and enjoy

    If however, the problem persists after these steps, please send us a log file by selecting Help, Send Support Request in the App so we can take a closer look.

     

    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Iain O'Brien

    Every time I plug in the drive the index starts but stops after a few hundred songs and goes back to blue. Nothing has indexed and no music can play even through the folders section . It detects the folder but nothing is inside them.
    This was all working pre update. I could always re index and that would go back through everything. Now it says one song indexed and does not restart when you click re index.

    I have fully restarted both node and drive many times. I have fully turned them off also for a few minutes.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Iain O'Brien

    Also now the drive no longer indexes as a share either. I can add the drive share manually as bluos never automatically finds any shares. Something in the latest update is causing the indexing to fail. In the logs it does not say which file it fails on. I can not use my music library now which was the main reason for the node2i.

    Nothing has changed on the drive no files have been added.

     

    Oct 16 09:44:47 (none) user.err ./ms.pl: main::__ANON__ ./ms.pl (1377) reindex failed

     

     I have managed to find the files blocking the indexing by using the 11000/Reindex?logall=1  command.

     

    I am still unsure why the update would cause these files to no longer be indexed as there was no issues before.

     

    I am running another index as a shared folder and will see if any more become unreadable.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • "If however, the problem persists after these steps, please send us a log file by selecting Help, Send Support Request in the App so we can take a closer look."

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Iain O'Brien

    I have already sent a request in, not heard anything back yet. The drive simply can't index as a usb drive any longer. seems to get to about 1000 files and fails. the 11000/Reindex?logall=1, does not work when the drive is pluged into the usb. It goes straight back to blue.

    Something just seems very buggy with the new update.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Unlikely as we have made no changes to this aspect of the firmware.

    You are in good hands and we will reach out soon...  thanks for your patience...

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Lagoskid

    I'm having this problem. Issue started after I updated to latest firmware.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Jacob St-Laurent

    I’m am also having this issue. I see you marked the issue as answered... what is the fix?

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Iain O'Brien

    The answered just means staff have answered in the thread. There's no fix. I cant get the drives to index at all plugged in as USB drives. As a network share now many of my files are now unreadable even though they were before for months. Im having to go through my whole library bit by bit to take out the files that no longer work. The indexing system needs a overhaul so it doesn't completely fail over one file it should finish and give you a list of files that have failed.

    A small USB stick of a couple gb will work and index. If I then put them same files on a larger usb drive it does not index. The larger drives need to have their own power supply as stated in bluos info which mine do.
    My drive was plugged into the node2i when it stopped indexing so what ever has happened has come from the node2i and not my end.

    Ntfs or fat32 results are the same.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Team

    Just an update on this, we are continuing to troubleshoot this and hope to publish an update as soon as possible - thank you for your continued patience.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Iain O'Brien

    You can index your files if you add one album worth of songs at a time and then press "reindex music collection" each time. This works with a shared folder. Have one folder shared on a pc and keep dropping in only one album at a time and reindex each time. All music indexes properly.
    There must be an issue with either directory sizes or number of files in a directory of a share. If you copy in two albums it will not index those new files you just added in.
    Obviously we could not sit and do this for our large music libraries.
    Large USB drives can't be indexed either even with just one file on them. So it must be to do with data size of folders and the data size of drives and number of files etc.

    1
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Iain O'Brien

    The tags themselves are not the issue but it is the database/ Indexing of those tags and possibly memory restrictions of the coding that causes files to fail the database ad all files can be read in my library as long as they are indexed after every album added.
    USB drives not indexing could be partly the same issue or another issue regarding mounting sizes.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Avatar
    Iain O'Brien

    Trouble with having to do albums one at a time is if your pc updates or windows changes a network setting and you loose your shared library out of the bluos you then have to do the whole process again as now the indexing can't do that large share you created again.

    So we have to wait for a firmware fix that sorts the indexing and USB mounting otherwise we have an expensive paper weight.

    0
    Comment actions Permalink
  • Hi Iain

    Thanks for your patience. We are in fact performing a number of tests on this here in the BluOS Lab regarding Album Artwork processing and error handling when it doesn't as the route cause.

    Please ensure your album artwork is meeting standards; https://support.bluos.net/hc/en-us/articles/360000368827

     

    0
    Comment actions Permalink

Please sign in to leave a comment.